STM Department of English

Examine the English literature of the world from a variety of critical standpoints. Research the interactions of literary, political, economic and intellectual culture. Gain a broader understanding of writing. Write poetry, fiction and drama. Edit literary works and journals. Explore timely and important issues through literature. Learn to communicate effectively. Analyze theatrical productions at Greystone and Saskatoon professional theatres.

Thinking About Declaring an English Major?

Career Opportunities with this Major
  • Website Designer
  • Librarian
  • Print Journalist
  • TV or Radio Broadcaster
  • Editor or Publisher
  • Speech Writer
  • Technical Writer
  • English Teacher
  • Literacy Program Administrator
  • Communications Consultant
  • Advertising Executive
  • Public Servant
English Degree Requirements

STM English Course Offerings

STM Faculty

Tenured & Tenure Stream

Michael Cichon, Acting Department Head: Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies - mcichon@stmcollege.ca

cichon

Darlene Kelly - dkelly@stmcollege.ca

kelly

Arul Kumaran, Dean - akumaran@stmcollege.ca

jumaran

Sarah Powrie, Department Head - spowrie@stmcollege.ca

powrie

Cynthia Wallace - cwallace@stmcollege.ca

wallace

Term Faculty

Kylee-Anne Hingston khingston@stmcollege.ca

hingston

Guy Vanderhaeghe gvanderhaeghe@stmcollege.ca

venderhaeghe

Sessional Faculty

Naqaa Abbas - nabbas@stmcollege.ca

Carleigh Brady - cbrady@stmcollege.ca

brady

Dawn Friel-Hipperson - dfrielhipperson@stmcollege.ca

friel-hipperson

Emily Morris - emorris@stmcollege.ca

morris

Barry Popowich - bpopowich@stmcollege.ca

popowich

Celene Sidloski - cdisloski@stmcollege.ca

sidloski

Michelle Thurlow - mthurlow@stmcollege.ca

thurlow

Kevin Ziegler - kziegler@stmcollege.ca

ziegler