STM Department of Philosophy

Philosophy is critical and creative thinking about fundamental questions, such as what is meant by a worthwhile life, what sense there is to the universe and what makes a just society.  Students pursuing a major in philosophy at the University of Saskatchewan may complete either the St. Thomas More College(STM) philosophy curriculum or the Arts and Science philosophy curriculum.  Both programs result in a B.A. in philosophy granted by the University of Saskatchewan. 
The STM philosophy program emphasizes fundamental questions about the human condition and explores the relations between humans, nature, the cosmos and the divine.  With its special emphasis in continental philosophy, philosophy of religion, ethics and Ancient/Medieval philosophy, STM philosophy promotes a dialogue between reason and faith, as well as contributes to interdisciplinary programs including Social Justice and the Common Good, Catholic Studies, and Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies (CMRS).

More information on U of S PHILOSOPHY DEGREE REQUIREMENTS   

More information on STM PHILOSOPHY COURSE OFFERINGS 

STM'S PHILOSOPHY MAJOR  Program details

Why Study Philosophy?

A journalist discusses reasons why the most valuable courses she took were philosophy courses in “Be Employable, Study Philosophy”, while the New York Times explores a trend towards more philosophy majors with its article “In a New Generation of College Students, Many Opt for the Life Examined.”  For these articles and others, see http://www.apaonline.org/page/undergrad_resources

Who Studies Philosophy?

What do singer/song-writer Buffy Saint-Marie, longest-serving chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada Beverly McLachlin, Former Prime Minister Paul Martin, Pope John Paul II and Alex Trebek have in common?  They all have degrees in philosophy.  For a list of people from a wide variety of fields who have studied philosophy, see  https://apaonline.site-ym.com/?whostudiesphilosophy

 

STM FACULTY:    

Tenured & Tenure Stream

Ria Jenkins, Department Head - rjenkins@stmcollege.ca

jenkins

John Liptay - jliptay@stmcollege.ca

liptay

Daniel Regnier - dregnier@stmcollege.ca

regnier

Carl Still - cstill@stmcollege.ca

still

Term Faculty:

Pierre-Francois Noppen - pnoppen@stmcollege.ca

noppen

Sessional Faculty:

Anthony Jenkins - ajenkins@stmcollege.ca

jenkins

Michael Poellet - mpoellet@stmcollege.ca

poellet

Bryan Wiebe - bwiebe@stmcollege.ca

wiebe