STM Religion and Culture Department

About

Over 80% of the world’s population identifies as religious. Religious beliefs and practices shape the histories, cultures and perspectives of individuals and entire civilizations. In view of  the role religion plays in shaping global citizens, religious literacy is of vital importance.


Quick facts

  • 3 or 4 year degree
  • Full or part-time program
  • You can enter this program directly from high school
  • You can begin this program off-campus

What you will learn

You will learn about religious approaches to some of humanity’s most timeless and urgent issues, such as the meaning of life and death, relationships, morality, gender and sexuality, ecology, social justice, war and peace. To understand how religions shape human experiences, societies and cultures you will a range of world religions and religious experiences within cultural, historical, ideological, and current settings.

The Department of Religion and Culture at STM contributes to four distinct programs:

Our courses also contribute to several minors:

Why study here?

Faculty
You will benefit from the diversity within our department, which features a group of scholars trained in the relevant languages, histories, philosophies and social scientific approaches. Specialists in Asian and Western religions and cultures provide diverse perspectives on systems of faith and religious practice throughout the world.

Hands-on learning
Alternate methods of learning such as visits from guest lecturers, community service learning, and site visits to local religious institutions are featured to encourage students to explore the religious diversity within our local community.

Study abroad
You can take advantage of our unique study abroad opportunities and immerse yourself in the cultures you are studying.

Thinking About Declaring a Religion and Culture Major?

Career Opportunities with this Major

  • Teacher
  • Journalist
  • Political consultant
  • Social service worker
  • Humanitarian aid worker
  • Religious minister
  • Community program manager
  • Foreign services worker
  • Cultural affairs officer
  • University professor
  • Academic editor
  • Diplomat
  • Jobs in immigration and public policy

STM Religious Studies Courses

Religion and Culture Degree Requirements

Explore related programs


Thinking About Declaring an Anthropology Major?

Thinking About Declaring an Archaeology Major?

Career Opportunities with this Major

  • Education, as teachers, professors and researchers
  • Museum and archives curator
  • Lab or Field Technician
  • Government sector, working for departments such as parks, highways, land management and cultural resources
  • Non-government and business sector, working for a range of private companies focussed on, for example:  excavation, heritage conservation, environmental site assessments, counselling and urban planning
  • Communications

STM Anthropology Courses

Anthropology Degree Requirements
  • Education, as teachers, professors and researchers
  • Museum and archives curator
  • Archaeological surveyor
  • Lab or Field Technician
  • Government sector, working for departments such as parks, highways, land management and cultural resources
  • Non-government and business sector, working for a range of private companies focussed on, for example:  excavation, heritage conservation, environmental site assessments, counselling and urban planning

STM Archaeology Courses

Archaeology Degree Requirements

Tenure and Tenure-Stream Faculty

Mary Ann Beavis, (RLST), Department Head - mbeavis@stmcollege.ca

Heidi Epstein (RLST) - hepstein@stmcollege.ca

epstein

Chris Hrynkow (RLST) - chrynkow@stmcollege.ca

Natalia Khanenko-Friesen (ANTH) - nfriesen@stmcollege.ca

natalia

Alisha Pomazon (RLST) - apomazon@stmcollege.ca

pomazon

Term Faculty:

Tina Greenfield (ARCH) - tgreenfield@stmcollege.ca

Sessional Faculty:

Carmen Bellamy (HEB) - cbellamy@stmcollege.ca

Laura Foley (ANTH) - lfoley@stmcollege.ca

foley

Elaine Hulse (RLST) - ehulse@stmcollege.ca

hulse

Aileen Novecosky (RLST) - anovecosky@stmcollege.ca

Lesya Sabada (CTST) - lsabada@stmcollege.ca

sabada