Board of Governors

"There shall be a Board of Governors to govern the affairs of the College in accordance with the terms of the Act and to manage the affairs of Corporation​ which are not by the Act or the General Bylaws required to be exercised by Corporation at a general meeting." - 2015 General Bylaws

STM Act 

Chapter 3 Amended Act 

2015 General Bylaws

2017 Board Members

Ms. Ashley Smith LL.B, LL.M ( Chair) practiced civil litigation at a major law firm in Saskatchewan until recently becoming in-house counsel for the Saskatoon Police Service. She has always been actively involved in her community and was honored for her contributions by being chosen as a YWCA Woman of Distinction in 2010.  Ashley is currently President of the Saskatchewan Trial Lawyers Association, Editor of the Canadian Bar Association’s publication Barnotes and an executive member of the St. Thomas More Lawyer’s Guild. She coaches the Western Canada Moot Team at the U of S College of Law, where her teams have placed in the top three nationally on four occasions, twice winning the national title. 

Ms. Bev Hanson (Vice Chair) is a strong advocate of Catholic education in our city and province, Bev Hanson’s vocation as a Catholic educator saw her earn three degrees from the University of Saskatchewan: a B.A., B.Ed., and Masters of Education.  Bev was instrumental in developing and providing an inclusive education for students with intensive learning needs. With a career spanning roles of classroom teacher, Learning Assistance Teacher, Consultant, Coordinator, Superintendent and Director of Education, Bev is a valued representative for STM’s Board of Governors.

Mr. Ray Kolla (Treasurer)  Ray Kolla CPA,CA is a retired partner with KPMG LLP. A U of S Commerce graduate, he started his career with Arthur Andersen in Vancouver and retired in 2011 after being in the profession for 36 years. From April, 2012 to March, 2013, Ray served as the Acting Director of Finance for International Road Dynamics Inc. Mr. Kolla has given of his time with extensive community and professional involvement over the years, recently as president of the Luxe Condominium Corporation and is presently on the advisory boards for the Ursuline Nuns of Bruno, the Ursulines of St. Angela’s Convent and the Sisters of St. Elizabeth, and serves on the Board of Directors of International Road Dynamics Inc.
Mr. Richard Fontanie BA, MSW, FCMC is President, Fontanie Associates Consulting Services Inc. He has extensive leadership and project management experience at senior and executive levels of organizations, holding such positions within the Provincial Government as Assistant Deputy Minister and Senior Consultant to Deputy Ministers on strategic and organizational change. Since leaving government in 1984, he has been a consultant, coach and facilitator to businesses, government and non-profit organizations. He is a past Chair of Campion College Board of Regents, University of Regina, presently Vice Chair, Santa Maria Senior Citizens Home, and a member of the St. Thomas More College Corporation. 
Ms. Maia Gibb brings to St. Thomas More College an understanding of educational objectives and goals, combined with life experience acquired through 22 years of working in health care and her 23 year involvement as a co-owner and board member of Amtech Electric Limited.  Ms. Gibb is an alumna of St. Thomas More College and earned the distinction as the 2014 STM graduating scholar with the highest cumulative average. Maia is currently a doctoral student in the department of Educational Psychology, College of Education, at the University of Saskatchewan, and has numerous awards and scholarships to her credit. 
Mr. Keith Pavo is a Vice-President & Investment Advisor with RBC Dominion Securities. Keith, along with his team, provide individualized investment solutions to foundations, charities, corporations and high net-worth individuals. A life-long Saskatchewan resident, Keith is a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan, with a B.A. in Agricultural Economics. Keith has been with Royal Bank since 1988 in numerous management roles, and in his current position with RBC Dominion Securities since 1996.
Ms. Marie Stack BA,LLB is a Partner at McKercher LLP, and has a general litigation practice with a focus on employment law, health law and corporate litigation. An STM undergrad, Marie received her law degree and her B.A. with a double major in Philosophy and Political Studies from the U of S. Marie is also very involved in several professional and volunteer community organizations including member of the Board of Directors of the Saskatoon branch of the Canadian Mental Health Association and volunteer supervising lawyer with Pro Bono Students Canada University of Saskatchewan.
Dr. Sharon Wright B.A., PhD (STM Faculty Member) is the History Department Head at STM. With a PhD in Medieval History. Dr. Wright is a member of the Classical, Medieval and Renaissance Studies executive at the University of Saskatchewan. An active community volunteer, Dr. Wright is currently the Chair of the Micah Mission, an ecumenical restorative justice NGO working with incarcerated and formerly incarcerated people. 
Dr. Terrence Downey (President) – completed an undergraduate degree at St. Jerome’s College at the University of Waterloo and MA and PhD degrees in Political Science at the University of Western Ontario. He is a former Chair of the Department of Political Science at the University of Waterloo and is President Emeritus of St. Mary’s University College, Calgary. Dr. Downey is an accomplished Canadian teacher, scholar and academic leader. Throughout his university career, he has demonstrated an unfailing commitment to excellence in teaching and research, collaborative leadership and community engagement, characteristics that have earned the respect and trust of both colleagues and University leaders.

Heidi Garrett - Heidi is a third-year student at St Thomas More College pursuing Religious Studies and English, with a special interest in studying the intersection of faith tradition and social justice. During her time at the college she's been involved with programs such as the Student Leadership Council and the Canadian Catholic Students Association. Previously elected as the VP Communications for the St. Thomas More Students’ Union, she now serves as president of the organization and looks forward to the privilege of helping to pursue the goals and mission of the college.