STM Department of English

Examine the English literature of the world from a variety of critical standpoints. Research the interactions of literary, political, economic and intellectual culture. Gain a broader understanding of writing. Write poetry, fiction and drama. Edit literary works and journals. Explore timely and important issues through literature. Learn to communicate effectively. Analyze theatrical productions at Greystone and Saskatoon professional theatres.

Thinking About Declaring an English Major?

Career Opportunities with this Major
  • Website Designer
  • Librarian
  • Print Journalist
  • TV or Radio Broadcaster
  • Editor or Publisher
  • Speech Writer
  • Technical Writer
  • English Teacher
  • Literacy Program Administrator
  • Communications Consultant
  • Advertising Executive
  • Public Servant
English Degree Requirements

STM English Course Offerings

STM Faculty

Tenured & Tenure Stream

 

cichon
Michael Cichon, Department Head 
mcichon@stmcollege.ca

kelly
Darlene Kelly
dkelly@stmcollege.ca

jumaran
Arul Kumaran, Dean
akumaran@stmcollege.ca

powrie
Sarah Powrie
spowrie@stmcollege.ca

wallace
Cynthia Wallace
cwallace@stmcollege.ca

Term Faculty

hingston
Kylee-Anne Hingston
khingston@stmcollege.ca

venderhaeghe
Guy Vanderhaeghe 
gvanderhaeghe@stmcollege.ca

Sessional Faculty

brady
Carleigh Brady
cbrady@stmcollege.ca

friel-hipperson
Dawn Friel-Hipperson
dfrielhipperson@stmcollege.ca

 

morris
Emily Morris
emorris@stmcollege.ca

sidloski
Celene Sidloski
cdisloski@stmcollege.ca

thurlow
Michelle Thurlow
mthurlow@stmcollege.ca

mcdonald
Jessica McDonald
jmcdonald@stmcollege.ca

tompkins
Shakti Brazier-Tompkins
stompkins@stmcollege.ca