STM Sociology Department

Sociology is the study of human social life, focusing on developing an understanding of changes in social structure and human interaction on an individual, societal and global level. Students in Sociology learn to analyze social issues and think critically about the world around them.

Thinking About Declaring a Sociology Major?

Career Opportunities with this Major
  • Community agencies
  • Social services and counselling
  • Corrections and criminal justice
  • Youth justice
  • Human rights and advocacy
  • Probation or parole
  • Public administration
  • Public policy and human resources
  • Public relations
  • Sociology and academia
  • Social research
  • Social work
Sociology for Life
Sociology Degree Requirements
STM Sociology Course Offerings

STM Faculty

Tenured & Tenure Stream:

hwang
Monica Hwang
mhwang@stmcollege.ca

knudson
Sarah Knudson
sknudson@stmcollege.ca

zhang
Tony Zhang
tzhang@stmcollege.ca

Term Faculty:

stakhanov
Oleg Stakhanov
ostakhanov@stmcollege.ca

Sessionals:

broda
Lisa Broda
lbroda@stmcollege.ca

hamoline
Rita Hamoline
rhamoline@stmcollege.ca

Professors Emeriti:


Darrell McLaughlin
dmclaughlin@stmcollege.ca

denis
Wilfrid Denis
wdenis@stmcollege.ca