President's Office


Dr. Carl N. Still, PhD     President, St. Thomas More College

Born in Columbia, South Carolina, Carl Still received degrees from the University of South Carolina and the University of Toronto, where he completed his PhD in philosophy through the Centre for Medieval Studies. He also holds a Licentiate in Medieval Studies from the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies in Toronto. Still's career began at St. Thomas More College (STM) in 1995 in the Department of Philosophy.

After serving as a faculty member and then dean of STM, Still was appointed interim President in 2018 and then named the 12th President of STM in 2019. In this role he led the creation of a new five-year strategic plan that identifies “authentic Indigenization” as a priority. Still established the position of STM Scholar on Indigenous Education to advise on the culture and curriculum of the College.

Building on work begun as dean, Still oversaw the opening of the Irene and Doug Schmeiser Centre for Faith, Reason, Peace, and Justice and secured major funding to support its programming. He signed the first unified Academic and Financial Partnership Agreement with the University of Saskatchewan. He has also represented STM in a renewed partnership with the Saskatoon Theological Union that now includes shared library leadership, academic conferences, and curricular innovation.

Dr. Still also serves as Vice-Chair of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities in Canada, and on the Governance Committee of Universities Canada.


Senior Administration


Past Principals and Presidents

1936 - 1941  Fr. E. Leonard Rush, C.S.B.

1941 - 1942  Fr. Edmund J. McCorkell, C.S.B.

1942 - 1949  Fr. Henry Carr, C.S.B.

1949 - 1955  Fr. Basil Sullivan, C.S.B.

1955 - 1961  Fr. Joseph O'Donnell, C.S.B.

1961 - 1977  Fr. Peter Swan, C.S.B.

1977 - 1982  Fr. Leonard Kennedy, C.S.B.

1982 - 1989  Fr. James Hanrahan, C.S.B.

1990 - 2000  Dr. John Thompson

2000 - 2010  Fr. George T. Smith, C.S.B.

2011 - 2018  Dr. Terrence Downey