Board of Governors

"There shall be a Board of Governors to govern the affairs of the College in accordance with the terms of the Act and to manage the affairs of Corporation​ which are not by the Act or the General Bylaws required to be exercised by Corporation at a general meeting." - 2021 General Bylaws

Board Members

Jason Aebig, BA (Chair)

STM Alumnus Jason Aebig is the CEO of the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce. As a former business owner and communications professional, he advised senior leaders in many of Saskatchewan’s Top 100 companies, organizations, SME’s and charities. In 2017, he was recognized for his significant volunteer and community service by Leadership Saskatoon. He is a former Board Chair for Saskatoon’s United Way, Remai Modern University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association, and most recently served as Board Chair for Sask Arts.


Neil Reddekopp, BA, CPA, CMA (Vice-Chair/Treasurer)

Presently the Chief Financial Officer for myComply, Neil has a variety of business experience and has operated his own investment management consulting practice.  A CPA and CMA, Reddekopp also received his BA from USask. Neil has served on several local Committees and Boards. Neil was the former Board Chair of Saskatoon Symphony Society, the Diocesan Finance Committee, and the St. Anne’s Parish Board. He is presently a member of a steering committee focused on the strategic direction of the Saskatoon Symphony Society.

Christopher C. Boychuk, BSc., LLB

An STM alumnus, Chris received his Bachelor of Science degree with distinction from USask, and his LL.B from College of Law. Employed as counsel with the McDougall Gauley law firm at their Saskatoon office, between 1992 – 2022, Boychuk's practice was primarily in the area of civil litigation with an emphasis in health, construction, and employment law.
Active in the Canadian Bar Association as an elected member of Provincial Council; past Chair of the CBA Health Law and Construction Law Sections North, and the Joint CBA/Law Society No-Fault Committee.  Chris has served on the Board of Directors of the Catholic Health Association from 2004 to 2014, including a term as Chairperson. He also served on the St. Paul’s Hospital Foundation Board of Directors since 2014 to present, including a two-year term as Chair.  Chris has also served as a Director of Emmanuel Care and is currently Chairperson of that Board and is presently a member of the Diocesan Finance Committee for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon.

Michelle D. Blackmon, BEd, BA

A member of the Canoe Lake Cree First Nation in Treaty 10 Territory, Blackmon is Chief Operating Officer at the Saskatoon Tribal Council. She has over 15 years of experience with Indigenous education in both First Nations and provincial schools. Blackmon’s interest in partnerships is built on a foundation of how Indigenous ways of knowing must be an integral consideration in all education and business endeavors. She is a USask graduate of both the Indian Teacher Education Program with Distinction, and Arts and Science in Native Studies, with Distinction. 
Blackmon advocates for organizations and post-secondary institutions to make meaningful space for Indigenous peoples. Blackmon serves on the Saskatoon Industry Education Council Board of Directors and in her role at STC she advocates for improving Indigenous people's quality of life through programming and partnerships.

Melvin Gerspacher, B.Comm, LL.B, Q.C., FCPA, FAC

Melvin Gerspacher has been on the board of directors of St. Thomas More Lawyers' Guild of Saskatoon since it was formed. He received a Bachelor of Commerce degree with Distinction in 1977 and a Bachelor of Laws degree in 1978, both from the University of Saskatchewan. He was called to the Saskatchewan Bar in 1979 and achieved his Chartered Accountant designation in 1981. He is a former partner in the firm of Robertson Stromberg LLP and is an experienced corporate and commercial lawyer with particular expertise in taxation. Melvin has volunteered with numerous charitable and non-profit organizations including serving on the boards of the Saskatoon Community Service Village Inc. and the Saskatchewan Catholic Health Corporation.


Dr. Helen Horsman BEd, PGD, MEd, PhD

Dr. Horsman’s impressive academic achievements and extensive resumé include serving as an instructor at both Saskatchewan universities, as well as for ITEP, SUNTEP, NORTEP and the Indian Federated College. She was Superintendent for Moose Jaw Catholic Schools, Director of Education for both Holy Trinity School Division and Saskatoon Catholic Schools, and Assistant Deputy Minister of Learning, and served as Chair of SIAST Provincial Foundation Board. Helen was inducted into the USask Alumni Wall Of Fame in 2010. Dr. Horsman currently operates her own consulting company HK Enterprises.


Sister Anne Lewans, O.S.U.

Sister Anne Lewans, O.S.U., is the General Superior of the Ursulines of Prelate. She grew up in a large family on a farm in southwest Saskatchewan and, after joining her order, attended Saskatoon Teachers’ College and became a longtime schoolteacher. She later served as vice-president of the Canadian Religious Conference, as Roman Catholic Chaplain at the University of Manitoba, as a member of the Leadership Team of the Diocese of Keewatin-The Pas, and is currently serving as a board member for Emmanuel Care (Sask) as well as several other organizations and councils.


Dr. Saeed Moshiri, MA, Ph.D.

Dr. Moshiri is a professor of Economics at the STM College, University of Saskatchewan. He received his MA from the University of Toronto (1993) and PhD from the University of Manitoba (1997) and has taught at different International and Canadian universities before moving to Saskatoon in 2019. His area of teaching and research are Macroeconomics, Energy and Environmental Economics, Innovation, Productivity, Technological Changes, and Economic Growth. Saeed’s research projects are supported by various national and local grant agencies and published in top Economic journals such as Energy Economics, the Energy Journal, Ecological Economics, Energy Policy, Industry and Corporate Change, Economic Journal, Empirical Economics, Economics of Innovation and New Technology. In his free time, Saeed plays soccer and has recently joined a curling team. 


Dr. Carl Still, PhD (President)

Completed an undergraduate degree at the University of South Carolina, a Licentiate at the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies (Toronto) and MA and PhD degrees in Medieval Studies at the University of Toronto. He teaches and publishes in the history of western philosophy. He joined the Philosophy department at STM in 1995 and later served as Department Head of Philosophy. From 2006 to 2016 he served as Dean of STM. Dr. Still is strongly committed to the value of Catholic higher education and to STM’s federation with the University of Saskatchewan. 


Henry Thiessen (STM Student Member)

Henry Thiessen is entering his third year of a CMRS (Classical Medieval and Renaissance Studies) degree, with aspirations to eventually pursue a law degree. He previously served on the St. Thomas More Student Union (STMSU) as Vice-President of Academics. As president he wants to build upon and strengthen the vibrant culture and identity of the college.


Board Reports